

## **NEWS**

## Geo. W. Crockett, Jr. CONGRESSMAN

13th District Michigan

1531 Longworth H.O.B. Washington, D.C. 20515 (202) 225-2261

\*

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 1, 1983

contact: Joan Willoughby

(202) 225-2261

CROCKETT SEEKS SANCTIONS AGAINST SOUTH AFRICA

Washington, D.C. -- Congressman Geo. W. Crockett, Jr. of Michigan, a member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, today wrote to President Reagan requesting that his Administration review its policy towards South Africa, and adopt "sanctions" against that government until it ends its apartheid policies and brings its government into compliance with human rights practices.

Citing the positive effect that such sanctions have had in contributing to the easing of human rights restrictions in Poland and elsewhere, Congressman Crockett called on the Reagan Administration to "combat the pervasive abuses of human rights perpetrated by the South African government against its Black population" through similar sanctions. "(T)he withdrawal of "privileges" such as Most-Favored-Nation trading status, public and private support, and economic assistance can be an effective bargaining tool to induce another government's compliance with basic human rights concerns within their own country," the letter continued.

The letter to President Reagan was generated in response to a "major policy statement" on South Africa delivered by Under Secretary of State Lawrence Eagleburger on June 23, wherein the Reagan Administration restated its reliance on the policies of "constructive engagement" towards South Africa as the basis for the bilateral relationship. Although not seen as a policy shift, the statement opened widespread discussions both in and out of government regarding the wisdom of the "constructive engagement" policy.

Congressman Crockett was joined in sending the letter by more than 30 other Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, including the chairman of the Africa Subcommitte, Howard Wolpe, and members of the Congressional Black Caucus.

The text of the letter follows:

## Congress of the United States

## House of Representatives

Washington, D.C. 20515

July 1, 1983

The Honorable Ronald Reagan President of the United States The White House Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

On Thursday, June 23, Under Secretary of State Lawrence Eagleburger delivered what your Administration termed a "major policy statement" regarding U.S. relations with South Africa.

While generally regarded as an indictment of the South African government's apartheid system, we are concerned that the statement did not appear to present any new Administration initiatives to combat the continuing pervasive abuses of human rights perpetrated by the South African government against its Black population.

Your Administration has shown, through its policies in Poland, and without internal interference, that the withdrawal of "privileges" such as Most-Favored-Nation trading status, public and private support, and economic assistance can be an effective bargaining tool to induce another government's compliance with basic human rights concerns within their own country.

We remain committed to the removal of the apartheid system in South Africa, and believe that the same policy of disincentives that proved effective with Poland would most effectively bring about the desired end in South Africa. It is clear that the "carrots" now being offered South Africa under your "constructive engagement" policy have not had the desired effect of spurring that government in the direction of compliance with human rights principles. The violation of rights in South Africa should, we believe, be treated in the same manner as the violation of human rights elsewhere.

Mr. President, we urge you to stand as clearly for human rights in South Africa as you have in Poland, and to review U.S. policy towards South Africa to reflect more clearly the determination of our people to effect basic democratic changes by the South African government.

Sincerely,

Hon. Geo. W. Crockett, Jr. Hon. Howard Wolpe

Hon. Merv Dymally

Hon. Mickey Leland

Hon. Doug Walgren Hon. Dale Kildee

Hon. Jim Moody Hon. Edolphus Towns

Hon. Gus Savage

Hon. Parren Mitchell

Hon. Robert Mrazek

Hon. Julian Dixon

Hon. Don Edwards

Hon. Antonio Won Pat

Hon. Barney Frank

Hon. Bruce Morrison

Hon. Timothy Penny Hon. William Clay

Hon. Walter Fauntroy

Hon. John Conyers

Hon. Norm Mineta

Hon. Katie Hall Hon. Michael Barnes

Hon. Ted Weiss

Hon. David Bonior

Hon. Louis Stokes Hon. Benjamin Gilman

Hon. Andrew Jacobs Hon. James Weaver

Hon. Charles Rangel

Hon. Martin Frost

Hon. Ron Dellums Hon. Allan Wheat Hon. Thomas Downey

Hon. Edward Feighan

Hon. Bob Edgar